Universal Access To All Knowledge
Home Donate | Store | Blog | FAQ | Jobs | Volunteer Positions | Contact | Bios | Forums | Projects | Terms, Privacy, & Copyright
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload

Reply to this post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: digital_zombie Date: Aug 8, 2007 12:37pm
Forum: netlabels Subject: How can I get some reviews?

This may belong in the FAQ section, I'm not sure if that's where I am.

Two Questions actually:
#1 I haven't had anyone review me and I'd like to see some feedback in stars... am I not promoting myself right?
#2 This is how far I am.. discography with clifordtvfinger pic:

Loooook, Click for a list of my Links!

I don't know anything about net-labels or ftp or any of that. I am completely lost.. is there any sites or anything to help me proceed in getting more organized and more efficient?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffJukkis Date: Aug 16, 2007 1:55pm
Forum: netlabels Subject: Re: How can I get some reviews?

Luumu has got couple reviews, but I think it's fairly hard to get any reviews.

For promotion... blogs might be good target for spreading the word and of course having label-page @ myspace, virb etc.

Quality after all...

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or Stafftransient Date: Aug 12, 2007 5:08am
Forum: netlabels Subject: Re: How can I get some reviews?

Hey, another little suggestion. It really helps to properly name your releases in the "title" field. I never hit any links that don't have "Artist Name - Album Name" at least and also helpful is a catalog number. If I don't know who made the record or have no idea what it is, there is pretty much zero chance I'm going to check it out.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: LAJ Date: Aug 8, 2007 8:48pm
Forum: netlabels Subject: Re: How can I get some reviews?

I'm not expert on this but for sure you're not alone in not having your items reviewed - there's just too much coming too fast. Four years ago I was listening to netlabel/open source audio almost exclusively, and I wrote quite a few reviews at the time. Since then the number of netlabels seems to have exploded and, for me, it has become increasing difficult to keep up with volume of releases that they put out let alone finding the good among the mediocre. At some point I relunctantly found myself "skimming" through many releases rather than listening carefully as I used to do. Because of the large amout of time I was investing in just locating good netlabel/open source music, the number of reviews that I did slowly tapered off except for a few that I now write for EARLabs. Now that almost anyone can start a netlabel and/or promote their music on the various free webspace that is available, I've pretty much restricted most of my listening to a couple of dozen fairly established netlabels (An artist/friend of mine refers to all of this as the "mp3.com effect" - "information overload"). Quality verses quantity, attractive/interesting artwork, good release notes, and high bit-rates are things that catch my attention. I also rely on a core of other listeners/artists and other reliable web-based sources (Phlow, Netlabelism, Disquiet, Rubored, EARLabs, ect.) to help steer in the direction of potentially good releases.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: digital_zombie Date: Aug 9, 2007 7:18am
Forum: netlabels Subject: Re: How can I get some reviews?

So is it bloggers? How do I promote myself on this site?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or Staffkmkrebs Date: Aug 9, 2007 6:42pm
Forum: netlabels Subject: Re: How can I get some reviews?

As you and many other have noticed, reviews are rare. I have to admit that I'm guilty of not writing many reviews here, but I can at least claim a few.

I've been involved with net labels for over ten years now, and I can tell you than reviews or responses are quite an uncommon event. The anonymity afforded by the internet clearly does not encourage individuals to interact with net label musicians.

As LAJ hints at in his response, I think the golden age of net labels has past - free space and ever increasing bandwidth (and I am not criticizing archive.org's philanthropic efforts in any way) are now readily accessible to anyone. I believe strongly that increasing access to information is ultimately good, it in inexorably tied to its shadow: the exponentially increasing deluge of data that frustrates our attempts to sift through it.

Making a name for yourself is getting progressively difficult. Getting recognition in the sources LAJ mentions would certainly be to your benefit. As in all forms of music (net-based or not), playing live helps a great deal. Also releasing with respected net labels in the genre you work within will improve your visibility.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: digital_zombie Date: Aug 9, 2007 9:17pm
Forum: netlabels Subject: Re: How can I get some reviews?

Wow, I can't thank you all enough for the great advice. I posted all over earlab today.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: LAJ Date: Aug 9, 2007 9:24pm
Forum: netlabels Subject: Re: How can I get some reviews?

I saw your post a EARLabs - that should attract some listeners. "Inner Shoplifter" has caught my attention.

I noticed that you didn't supply any KEYWORDS with your Archive uploads - indicating genre and other descriptors. I do a lot of searches via keywords, it'll increases your chances of being discovered.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Telephone Toughguy Date: Aug 8, 2007 1:04pm
Forum: netlabels Subject: Re: How can I get some reviews?

I'll check it out. I have an item with 10,000 downloads and not 1 review (other than me saying the same thing) people on here are weird about it. Seems to be the norm on other sites as well, unless you piss someone off or are already famous, in which case the reviews are pointless.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: digital_zombie Date: Aug 9, 2007 7:07am
Forum: netlabels Subject: Re: How can I get some reviews?

I guess that's true. I thought maybe I wasn't making my page interesting enough. But yeah, I guess I don't need them. Thanks for visiting my page btw. Very quick response. I didn't really think about that I was editing them all day yesterday so I'm sure it was hard to catch a page that was still there.
Anyways.
So how do you promote yourself to the unseen?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Telephone Toughguy Date: Aug 9, 2007 8:49am
Forum: netlabels Subject: Re: How can I get some reviews?

Guerilla marketing, networking, word of mouth. Try and get other's involved and help spread the word. I thought the internet would revolutionize the music industry and help get talented musicians noticed and even signed but apparently you still need clever marketing and advertizing. Snazzy and catchy visuals and other lowest common denominators in the battle for people's attention. Mind control helps, we used to put subliminal messages on our mix tapes but never got any results.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: digital_zombie Date: Aug 9, 2007 12:15pm
Forum: netlabels Subject: Re: How can I get some reviews?

Hmmm. Subliminal Messages, eh? I have always wanted any army of henchmen....

Terms of Use (10 Mar 2001)